The Big Three

Yesterday I finally purchased the last of the Big Three (tent, sleeping bag, backpack):

basbk

image courtesy of backcountry.com

This is the Exos 58 by Osprey. Like the gear that will be inside it, this weighs roughly ONE THIRD of my previous backpack! Unbelievable.

I’ll do a YouTube video this week of everything I’m putting in my pack (except food, which I haven’t planned out yet).

Update: The cat food can stove is coming soon … just waiting for one of the cans to arrive that my brother-in-law cut for me. I’ll make a video about how I built that as well, along with a flame test video during which I will probably set myself on fire. (I didn’t get the nickname “Mr. Safety” for nothing, ya know!)

2 thoughts on “The Big Three

  1. Hi , I just found your blog- I love reading the trails logs of the AT and PCT that start up as this time of year- it looks to be an awesome adventure you are about to embark on. You’ll love the pack- I have the exos 48 and have no complaints. I like that there is a whistle built in to the strap and the on-the-go poles stowage system. Fantastic pack.
    Good luck in your trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

